If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (609) 549-0379

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

Knowing the Category's of Destruction

5/19/2019 (Permalink)

When SERVPRO of Manahawkin deals with any type of water damage, our restoration team is trained to identify the type of water damage that is present by categorizing them into specific groups according to the universal standards set by the IICRC. If you are experiencing water damage, it is important you know and understand these categories too. As this will assist you in understanding the plan-of-action for the restoration and repair process. Here are the following categories and their definitions according to the IICRC:

Category 1. This is liquid from a clean and sanitary source, such as faucets, toilet tanks, drinking fountains, etc. But, category one can quickly degrade into category two.

Category 2. This category of liquid used to be called grey water, and is described as having a level of contaminates that may cause illness or discomfort if ingested. Sources include dishwasher or washing machine overflows, flush from sink drains, and toilet overflow with some urine but not feces.

Category 3. This is the worst classification and is grossly unsanitary. It could cause severe illness or death if ingested. It used to be called black water, and sources include sewer backup, flooding from rivers or streams, toilet overflow with feces, and stagnant liquid that has begun to support bacterial growth.

Other News

View Recent Posts